Boxing Cheddar From Australia

November 28, 2010

As most of you already know, The Lady and I have never met a cheddar we didn’t like and in most cases, didn’t love… Boxing Cheddar from Australia is no exception to the “love” column. And at $7.99 a pound, retail, it’s also a great bargain for the cheddar lovers of the Pacific Northwest. (The Lady saw it last year at Costco for about half that price… she should have bought it… shoulda, coulda, woulda… or as our friend Nancy, married to The Man’s BFF, Gary, likes to say… “it’s a sorry if…” you’ll be sorry if you don’t buy it when you see it at Costco…)

Anyway, forgive the digression there…

Boxing Cheddar, complete with a Kangaroo on the packaging, is imported by DPI, the same folks who ban access to this very blog. I have been unable to discover who produces this “tasty” cheddar and if any of my loyal readers have a clue, please share…

Boxing Cheddar is aged three years and is nutty and tangy with a nice bite that lingers after the cheese is gone. We had it on a cheese plate with other cheeses The Lady procured while out spying on the competition. I love that The Lady has no qualms about buying new cheeses from her competitors… but only cheeses she doesn’t carry in her own cheesemines…

I give Boxing Cheddar 3 Paws out of 4 Paws (cause that’s all I’ve got…).

Serving Suggestions: On a cheese plate for snacking and in cooking, especially au gratins and the ever ubiquitous mac n cheese.

Wine Pairing: 14 Hands has a new red sold retail, Hot to Trot, and it is becoming a favorite around the manse. This is a red blend and it’s fruity and smooth… a very nice wine…

Beer Pairing: James Squire Brewhouse Australian Brown Ale

Source: Pasteurized Cow Milk

8 Responses to “Boxing Cheddar From Australia”


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Marcella Wright, Marcella Wright. Marcella Wright said: Boxing Cheddar From Australia: http://wp.me/piBjI-Jn […]

  2. Jim Costas Says:

    If you find out who makes the Boxing Cheddar, could you let me know?

    I work for a Market Research company that tracks sales of random weight products in Grocery stores (raw data from scanners). I do Deli Cheese, and I’ve seen Boxing Cheddar in various Albertson’s, Jewel & Cub, and Vons. I need to find out who makes the cheese items, but have been unsuccessful for Boxing Cheddar.

  3. dc Says:

    I bought this a few times in a Jewel/Osco…they do not carry it any longer…I miss it so!

  4. randall morris Says:

    This cheese reminds me very strongly of Bega Tasty or Extra Tasty cheese (sharp cheddar) that you get in the supermarket all over Australia. It wouldn’t surprise if this is Bega cheese in fact, as Bega is known to also sell cheese made in New Zealand under their own label.

    I was very happy to find this (on sale) at Albertsons.

    • cheesemonger Says:

      Randall, thanks for your comments. It is common in the US for large cheese production facilities to sell cheese to other companies. The Lady was touring a cheese facility in Wisconsin last year and saw cheese being packed and labeled “Boar’s Head”, a specialty meat/cheese company based in Canada.

  5. Jessica Says:

    Hi, I am an Australian and I love my boxing cheese. I use to buy it from Albertsons. I would purchase more than one at a time. Then suddenly a couple of weeks ago it was no where to be seen in Albertsons, my husband is out now as I speak trying to find it in Vons. No one in Albertsons can tell us if it is coming back or why it disapeared from the shelf. I know lots of people loved this amazing cheese so why take it out. If anyone knows where to purchase this please let us all know.


Leave a Reply

