Cheesemonger.WordPress Reaches the Big 5-0-0 With This Posting

February 14, 2011

 

Back in August 2008, when The Lady and I began our adventure with cheese, I don’t think either of us thought we’d write 500 blog posts and pages… but here we are today, posting number 500.

As 500 loomed on the horizon, in my bravado, I began a countdown and made promises of “Big Plans”… after 499, I realized I actually had to deliver on my “Big Plans”. I was reminded of Samuel Johnson, who said, “It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than open one’s mouth and remove all doubt.” SJ was a wise man indeed…

The Lady and I put our heads together… which is easier around here than one might think… and decided to go with our favorite Cheese Headlines. Followed by a few shout-outs to a folks who helped us along the way…

 

The Lady and I subscribe to a Google search alert titled “cheese” and every day we get an email filled with headlines and links to articles Google gleans from the internet about all things cheese. It’s a great research tool and keeps us up-to-date with the cheese world. Granted, we get a few things that have nothing to do with the cheese we know, love and write about… for example, cheese is slang for “money” and derived from welfare recipients receiving “government cheese”. Sadly, “cheese” is also slang for a new illegal drug hitting the urban streets…

From these alerts, I noticed the following:

  1. It is scary how many strange events occur in and around Chuck E. Cheese… few, if any, involve cheese or Chuck E.; many involve brawling…
  2. You can make a different Mac n Cheese recipe every day of the year for a decade or longer…
  3. “Say Cheese” is the favorite phrase used in news stories about cheese… followed closely by “The Big Cheese” and “Whey to Go”… all a bit “cheesy” if you ask me…

 

And now for my favorite Cheese Headlines from 2010:

Things a Monkey Could Cook: Macaroni and Cheese with Applesauce (how about a caveman???… with all due respect to the cavemen of the world…)

Cheesemaker’s growth udderly fantastic (seriously??? “udderly”??? – “Hey, copywriter, step away from the keyboard!!”)

Dog eats bagel; woman goes nuts (turns out the woman thought the cream cheese schmeared on the bagel would kill the dog… Ten bucks says she’s a member of PETA…)

Mr Dimon, Would You LIke Some Cheese With That Whine? (One of our favorites around the manse – Jamie Dimon is the head of Chase Bank (or in keeping with our theme here – he’s the Big Cheese at Chase), which is, in our still constitutionally protected opinion, one of the greediest banks in the country.

Cut the Cheese in “The Fart Without Fear” Cookbook (I don’t know where to begin…)

Cancer Patients Should Avoid Listeria Containing Cheese Products (Not that anyone asked me, but it seems everyone should avoid cheese products containing listeria… but what do I know, I’m just a cat.)

Now Drinking | The Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup Martini (is nothing sacred???)

Oprah: Depression Made Me Eat 30 Pounds of Mac ‘N’ Cheese (now, that’s a lot of mac n cheese…)

A foodie rates Chili’s 2 for $20 deal: Trying out that little bistro on Sawyer (I’m sorry, I just never thought I’d see “Foodie” and “Chili’s” in the same sentence…)

The secret to great fudge is … Velveeta? (I don’t even have to make this stuff up…)

 

And here are a few Chuck E. Cheese specific headlines…

Below the Scroll: Chuck E. Cheese’s brawls, Miss America, weightless cats (I take great exception to Chuck E Cheese brawls and cats being mentioned in the same headline… even the weightless ones.)

Beaumont man arrested after brawl at Chuck E Cheese (The Lady and I watched the video of this event but decided it was in poor taste to link to it… however, you can find it at youtube.com. (Telling you where to find it is tasteless as well; but a little less, don’t you think???) There’s also a news video about another brawl at a Chuck E Cheese somewhere on the East Coast… what’s up with brawling at Chuck E Cheese – isn’t it supposed to be a family restaurant where you take the kids to have fun???)

Police log: Women fighting at Chucky Cheese (evidently, just another typical evening at Chuck E. Cheese)

Calling All Cars: Trouble at Chuck E. Cheese’s, Again (what can I say… “It must be The Hickeys again”….)

Man Punches Woman at Chuck E. Cheese (I ask you, shouldn’t this be the exception rather than the rule when it comes to CEC… alas, I would be wrong…)

 

On a more serious note, a few shout-outs to folks who helped The Lady and moi, your humble Feline Foodie, as we wander through the world of cheese:

 

First, and most important, is The Man. He is the love of The Lady’s life; he takes care of all my needs when The Lady is at the cheesemines and he’s been a good sport regarding the comments I make about him… well, most of them, anyway… 

My friend Katy Ellis O’Brien, who drew the caricature of moi that has become my signature portrait. Katy, you’re the best and amazingly talented… you captured my soul (and heart)… Please visit Katy’s website and blog to view her art.

Amy, The Queen of Cheese, who ignited the first passion for cheese in The Lady…

DPI, for taking me off their banned blogs list and allowing their employees to once again read what I have to say, in the event anyone at DPI actually cares…

Gordon “Zola” Edgar, cheesemonger extraordinaire, for generously sharing his knowledge with The Lady and moi. Please buy his book, Cheesemonger, A Life on the Wedge and read his blog.

And finally, The Brain. If not for him, The Lady and I would never have hooked up…

 

18 Responses to “Cheesemonger.WordPress Reaches the Big 5-0-0 With This Posting”


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Marcella Wright, Marcella Wright. Marcella Wright said: Cheesemonger.Wordpress Reaches the Big 5-0-0 With This Posting http://wp.me/piBjI-NF […]

  2. Ondrew Says:

    Congratulations! That is quite an accomplishment. Keep up the good work and I’ll look forward to celebrating your 1000th post someday. Time flies when you are having fun!

    http://canadacheeseman.wordpress.com/

    • cheesemonger Says:

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting. As you know, we love Canadian cheese – wish we had access to more of it here.

  3. Mary Moore Says:

    Ah, the Brain. Haven’t heard much from him this winter, but the DC Squadron is sleeping much more these days. Perhaps I ought to start feeding them some cheese. Do you think they would really like Cambozola, or should I stick with something more affordable?

    Congratulation on 500 blogs. You are quite the cat’s meow.

  4. Mary Moore Says:

    So SG and the Lady….when are we going to see the movie and the book? Will our favorite feline foodie star as himself? Perhaps we can get Meryl Streep to play “The Lady”.

  5. Pete Says:

    I noticed a stray al… cat roaming our deck yesterday. Does this mean I’m being staked out by the Brain? Worse. Does it mean I’m going to have to share my cheese?

  6. Sharon Dockins Says:

    Love your blog but I sure wish I’d found it sooner. ChaosKittyKat and I have a lot of catch up reading to do. Congtatulations on your 500th blog. For me forty down, 460 to go.

  7. dolly phillips Says:

    apparently, kids have fun watching “grown-ups” fighting. great blog. must rush right out to pick up the cut the cheese book. what was the publisher thinking? congrats on the 500. look forward to many more.


  8. Congratulations on post #500 and thank you for the wonderful, cheesy content! We love your blog over here at Tillamook. We’re all dying to try the Tillamook 100th Anniversary Cheddar Cheesecake recipe you posted a few months ago – sounds amazing!

    Thanks!

    -Tara of the Tillamook Team

    • cheesemonger Says:

      Tara, Thank for your kind words – we love Tillamook cheese here at the manse. And I have to tell you that cheesecake IS to DIE FOR. Now that the 100th Anniversary has gone away, I’ll have to make it with your 2 year White Vintage – as you know that’s the “official cheddar” here. Did you know that Fred Meyer is no longer carrying that particular cheese? I am so bummed… now I have to “cheat” on Freddy’s and but this cheese from a competitor… what were they thinking???

  9. uke mochi Says:

    Congrats on your milestone and the best wishes for many more. You’re a true turophile!

  10. Gordon Edgar Says:

    Congrats on the big 500 and thanks for the kind words. Whoo-hoo!


Leave a Reply

