The Lady is on Vacation

October 16, 2009

The Lady is on vacation from the cheese mines. This is supposed to be good but with this vacation thing something bad…very bad…has happened…

When The Lady came home from work on Sunday she arrived with two other humankinds who brought along suitcases that contained some of their earthly possessions and they took over the “guest” room…which I suppose makes them “guests”. The bed in that room was, up until Sunday, where I took my daily mid-afternoon nap. Now, I am taking that nap and most of the others under The Lady and The Man’s bed…sheesh…

Something has got to change…

These two interlopers have several names…The Lady calls them Mom and Dad; The Man calls them Richard and Anne…I call them annoying and wish they would go back to their own manse…the only good thing I can say about them is they are protected by an excellent observer cat…I can smell him…I even know who he is from his scent…he is Hemingway, Quadrant Leader of the Northeast Georgia Mountain Brigade (previously he served in Key West). Although loyal to The Brain and true to his observational duties, Hemingway has a somewhat “checkered” past; he has always been known as a fighter and a lover…which got him into trouble on more than one occasion in Key West which led to “the incident” that led to his transfer to NE Georgia…but I digress…

I find Miss Anne to be particularly thorny; all she wants to do is pet me and speak goo-goo talk to me…what is it with humankinds that they think we want them to pet us…if I want to be petted, I have a lap for that. If I want to nap with a humankind, I have a lap for that; and if I want to get up close and personal with a goo-goo talker, I have a lap for that…and it’s not Miss Anne. I’m sure Miss Anne is lovely; Hemingway’s reports to The Brain indicate that she is easily manipulated and provides excellent kibble and treats…but she is not The Lady…

However, she does make one mean Potato-Tillamook Cheddar Soup and you can find the recipe by clicking here.

9 Responses to “The Lady is on Vacation”

  1. Kay Dickerson Says:

    no wonder I didnt see you today….
    I’ve been keeping close watch on my husband. but finally, today, he is getting hisd spirit back, tho not his energy YEt.
    BUT HE WILL . Miss you, my mongrer.
    Spaulding, please let me know when the mistress will return to the cheese mines….
    much devotion,
    Kay

  2. cheesemonger Says:

    So glad to hear your husband is better; please give him my regards.

    Sorry to miss you at the store; I’ll be back on Thursday…


  3. […] and learned the Blue Cheese was Clemson Blue… new mission… While in Georgia visiting Miss Anne and The Tall Guy and my best feline bud, Hemingway, The Lady added a stop at Clemson University (Go Tigers!!) to buy […]


  4. […] NE Georgia, he bivouacked with Miss Anne and The Tall Guy who invaded the manse last fall when they came to visit The Lady and The Man. I was stunned to see that once again, there was only […]


  5. […] Excalibur English Cheddar was a gift The Lady brought me last month when she returned from visiting Miss Anne, The Tall Guy and the Late, Great Hemingway, […]


  6. […] The Lady had the honor of volunteering at the Festival of Cheese which followed the 2010 American Cheese Society Awards Program in Seattle this past August. One of the cheeses she cut and displayed was from the State of Georgia, a place near and dear to The Lady and home of Miss Anne and The Tall Guy. […]


  7. […] with Vintner’s Kitchen Strawberry and Pinot Noir Jam and toasted Georgia Pecans (sent to us by Miss Anne and The Tall Guy). The Lady has her “everyday cheeses” which she always keeps around the manse. She has added […]


  8. […] your perception of these crisps. All three that we sampled are scrumptious, borrowing a word from Miss Anne, mother of the late, great Hemingway, Joel (who has also left us behind) and The Lady and […]


  9. […] go live with my BFF, Becky, who took care of me last year when The Lady and The Man went to visit Miss Anne and the Tall Guy… that won’t work either, The Lady and Becky eat lunch together every day and if I move in with […]


Leave a comment