Epoisses…Who Knew??

December 3, 2008

Epoisses

Epoisses

Winner: 2009 Feline Foodie Awards: Cheese Banned From French Public Transportation

The Lady brought home a round, wooden, stinky box with a cheese inside that was so divine, I thought I might lose a life just feasting on this delightful cheese. Alas, I got very little because The Lady used the term “pricey” and The Man decided it was a cheese only good enough for the humankind. (I may have to punish him and not allow him to pet me today…)

The famous epicure, Brillat-Savarin proclaimed Epoisses “The King of Cheeses” which must have miffed the Italians of Parma who say the same about their own Parmigiano-Reggiano. But I have to agree with B-S; this cheese is, by far, the best The Lady has allowed me to taste and review. In fact, I don’t have enough paws to rate it properly…

It is said that Napoleon was a particularly “big” fan of Epoisses.

This cheese was very popular before World War II and was manufactured extensively in the Cote-d’Or region of France. Since WWII, it has experienced a drastic reduction in manufacturing.

However, those who love this cheese, seek it out and according to The Lady, a couple of her customers have swooned when spotting it in the Air Screen case.

Epoisses is a pungent, washed-rind cheese (washed with Brandy) and circular with a red-orange rind. It is creamy and melts on the palate. As it melts, its taste changes and becomes more complex, leaving a satisfying and lingering after taste.

The Lady mentioned to The Man that the little box (less than 8 ounces) costs $23.99 making it the most expensive cheese that The Lady sells at the kiosk which she now refers to as the “cheese mines”. But trust me, it’s worth every penny…

Trivia: Because of its stinky smell, Epoisses is banned from Public transportation in France…just like the French, make a divine cheese and then kick it off the bus…

I give Epoisses 4 out of 4 Paws (cause that’s all I’ve got) and I must throw in my wagging tail on this one…as the French would say…oooh, la, la…

Serving Suggestions: Eat it alone on a cracker.

Wine Pairings: A good red burgundy or a sauternes.

Source: Unpasturized cow’s milk.

2 Responses to “Epoisses…Who Knew??”


  1. […] The Lady was quick to point out that it was not as pungent as my own personal French favorite, Epoisses, but found similarities between these two cheeses, which are both from the Champagne region of […]


  2. […] is not only gorgeous with a hint of redin its paste which reminds of my favorite French cheese, Epoisses; it melts on the palate as the sweet, nutty earthiness of this cheese explodes in the mouth. You […]


Leave a comment