Le Cendrillon Wins Best Cheese in the World 2009!!

October 3, 2009

The goat cheese Le Cendrillon (The Cinderella) from La Maison Alexis de Portneuf crowned the best cheese in the world!

SAPUTO INC SAP 10/2/2009 5:28:00 PM

MONTREAL, Oct. 2, 2009 (Canada NewsWire via COMTEX News Network) —

Le Cendrillon, produced by La Maison Alexis de Portneuf Inc., has been crowned World Champion, all categories combined, at the prestigious and influential World Cheese Awards 2009. Le Cendrillon was therefore hailed the world’s best cheese after competing alongside 2,440 cheeses from 34 countries. The winners were revealed yesterday evening during a gala held in the Canary Islands and attended by nearly 300 of the world’s top cheese experts.

Produced in St-Raymond-de-Portneuf, Le Cendrillon is an ash-covered soft surface-ripened soft goat cheese. It is available across Canada in cheese boutiques and large grocery stores.

On September 21, 2009, La Maison Alexis de Portneuf Inc. was also awarded the coveted “Prix du Public” at the Slection Caseus 2009. The competition recognizes Quebec’s fine cheeses. The Bleubry and the Chèvre des Neiges Triple Cream Brie from La Maison Alexis de Portneuf Inc. also earned top honours in their respective categories.

A Blue Stilton from Long Clawson made it into the final round…more on this as news comes in…

SG Editorial note…The Lady has agreed that she will try and find this cheese for me, your humble correspondent, to taste and review…even though it is from goats’ milk…

15 Responses to “Le Cendrillon Wins Best Cheese in the World 2009!!”


  1. I dont know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    …..Frank Scurley

  2. nigel watson Says:

    I live near Toronto.
    Do you know where I can buy Le Cendrillon cheese thank you. Nigel

    • cheesemonger Says:

      It is my understanding that the cheese is available in Quebec and most larger supermarkets and cheese shops throughout Canada.

      For further information: Karine Vachon, Senior Advisor, Communications, (514) 328-3377; Marie-José Bégin, Enzyme, (514) 994-0802

  3. Len Says:

    it is available at Chris’ Cheesemongers, located within the st. lawrence market, downtown toronto!


  4. […] This post was Twitted by kschoenwandt […]

  5. Kat Says:

    RE: Toronto

    It’s also available at Leslieville Cheese Market. Enjoy – it is indeed a unique & wonderful cheese!

  6. Sandy Says:

    Can I order this cheese on-line??

    • cheesemonger Says:

      Sandy, sorry for the delay in replying but I couldn’t locate an online outlet but my good friends at Leslieville Cheese Market in Toronto have it and they have a Twitter Account: CheeseMarket – go to twitter and you can locate them.

  7. Andrew Says:

    I tried this cheese in Whole Foods in West Vancouver. It was a free sample laid out that said “best cheese in the world”, I thought that was just a cute ad slogan but I tasted it and I couldn’t get enough. I bought it despite being on a student budget and it being 10$ for 125 grams. I simply didn’t want to be without it.

    I just decided “I wonder if anyone else knows about this cheese”, googled it, and saw that “best cheese in the world” wasn’t a cute ad.


  8. […] plate of five Quebec cheeses followed by a tasting of the 2009 World Cheese Awards Grand Champion, Le Cendrillon. (Again, all of these cheeses will be reviewed once we are back at the […]


  9. […] Le Cendrillon Wins Best Cheese in the World (The Lady and I tasted this last week and we’ll write a review in the next few days…) […]


  10. […] Le Cendrillon Wins Best Cheese in the World 2009!! October 2009 12 comments 3 […]


  11. […] of the table was the 2009 Best Cheese in the World as declared at the 2009 World Cheese Awards: Le Cendrillon produced in Quebec by La Maison Alexis de Portneuf. This is a goats’ milk cheese covered in […]


  12. […] goat cheese on the far right was my favourite and it actually won Best Cheese in the World […]


Leave a comment